pop-up for newsletter

25 July 2013

Summer at the Horniman

There are some great musical and dance events taking place at the Horniman this August. Here are just a few, but there are many of other events for adults and children throughout the summer.

Florilegium concert - Friday, 26 July 2013 (ticketed event)
Florilegium are one of the UK’s foremost period instrument ensembles.

Capoeira Workshop and Performance - Wednesday, 31 July 2013 from 1:30pm
The Afro-Brazilian artform of Capoeira combines martial arts, dance steps and music first developed by Africans as an act of resistance against their colonial rulers. This performance and simple workshop is suitable for all ages and will encourage you to take part in some simple moves.

Brazilian Ceilidh - Thursday, 1 August 2013 from 1:30pm
The Ceilidh Liberation Front, London’s newest and most radical ceilidh band, will invite everyone to take part in the famous Gaucho Handkerchief Dance, with a load of brightly coloured handkerchiefs provided so everyone can wear one and get into the spirit.

Amphion Consort concert - Friday, 9 August 2013 - 7pm (ticketed event)
The Amphion Consort presents an enjoyable and varied programme of guitar pieces by the Brazilian composer Villa Lobos, refined suites by Court of Versailles composers Marin Marais and de Visee, sizzling baroque songs from Latin America and music by J S Bach.

Latin Late at the Horniman - Friday, 16 August 2013 - 6pm (ticketed event)
Live music – Majagua
Circus - Circolombia
Film – The Suitcase Cinema
Talks and object handling - Life in the Amazon Rainforest
Dance - Tango Ball
Storytelling – Mexican stories

Summer Bandstand Concerts - Sundays from 3pm
Mafua de Yaya - Sunday, 28 July 2013
Lokandes - Sunday, 4 August 2013
Afro-American Project - Sunday, 11 August 2013
Cumbé - Sunday, 18 August 2013
Son Yambu - Sunday, 25 August 2013

Latin Music Fiesta - Sunday, 1 September 2013 - 12pm - 6pm
A big Latin fiesta in the Horniman Gardens to celebrate the end of the Latin American series of summer events: the programme will include carnival performances from Brazil, Argentinean tango, brass bands from Mexico, Peruvian party vibes and much more!

No comments: